Atz' maps

Discussion of all aspects of multiplayer development: unit balancing, map development, server development, and so forth.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Atz
Art Contributor

Atz' maps

Post by Atz »

Had a break from making art, tried making maps instead. They're up on the 1.8 1.9 server now. There's a variety of maps, but they're mostly 1v1 or 2v2, medium-ish sized.

A few are probably terribly unbalanced, because this is my first attempt at making maps and I was experimenting a bit, but I've tried to get most of them into something resembling balance. Suggestions and comments welcome - there's probably a lot of room for improvements.

Not going to upload images for all of them since there's quite a few, but here's a sample:
Spoiler:
Last edited by Atz on March 7th, 2011, 5:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
hhyloc
Translator

Re: Atz' maps

Post by hhyloc »

The first map looks a little...blank? Too much grassland will favor horseman/cavalry/wolf rider/... and foot units probably will be forced to fight in the center of the map.
Also, I think Northerner or Knalgan Alliance will be advantaged on this map due to many hills.
Just my thoughts... :hmm:
R.I.P
Reepurr

Post by Reepurr »

Indeed, I can see a gigantic duel going on there with elves and northerners in the middle bit of map 1. The dwarves can happily snap up all the hills and mountains in the middle, while the elves (and everyone else) are restricted to those small patches of forest. It would be nice to put in some patches of snow or sand or forest or whatever in that huge grassy land (again on map 1) so units can get the occasional defence bonus.
By the way, I sympathise - maps are really hard...

@ hhyloc: Knalgans do have an advantage, but northerners not so much as AFAIK they don't get any defence bonuses in hills.
"What do you mean, "a dwarvish dragonguard with marksman is overpowered"?"

Story of a Drake Outcast | The Nonsense Era