Making a 1vs1vs1 map, any input?

Discussion of all aspects of multiplayer development: unit balancing, map development, server development, and so forth.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Cruz

Making a 1vs1vs1 map, any input?

Post by Cruz »

Hey again, trying once more to make a map, this time a 1vs1vs1 map, which i've never tried before.

(Suddenly we have an added element of diplomacy to the game, yay ;)

Therefore, anyone have any good advice to share before i take to the tiles? :D

Edit: Added a pic of the map.
the entire map:
Last edited by Cruz on October 4th, 2009, 3:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Caphriel

Re: Making a 1vs1vs1 map, any input?

Post by Caphriel »

Yes. Don't do it. 3-way free-for-alls almost always turn into a 2v1, followed by an unequal 1v1. If you absolutely have to make the map, try to come up with some way to strongly encourage players not to gang up on one player (i.e., reward fighting both opponents equally.)
Cruz

Post by Cruz »

So i should not make one, because most people are stupid? :)
Caphriel

Post by Caphriel »

:lol2: I didn't really mean you shouldn't make it. Just that you must be very careful about the prospects of two players ganging up on one other. Be sensitive especially to time of day. Two players of one alignment and one player of the other can cause the two who share an alignment to naturally gang up on the one that differs.
A Guy

Post by A Guy »

I spit in the face of N3T. I remember I repeatedly betrayed both of my opponents during one 1v1v1 game.
I'm just... a guy...
I'm back for now, I might get started on some work again.
Cruz

Post by Cruz »

The biggest problem seems to make people stay long enough:S

Might be because the map is not entertaining enough, or maybe its a common problem in more than 1vs1's.
Caphriel

Post by Caphriel »