Maybe I ought to contribute some music?

Create music and sound effects for mainline or user-made content.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

A_Two-Sheds_Jackson

Maybe I ought to contribute some music?

Post by A_Two-Sheds_Jackson »

Hello dear Wesnothians,

I'm a mathematician who has not composed since the middle ages and would perhaps write a piece for Wesnoth.

My musical idols, and perhaps those who influence my composing style most, are the two French impressionists Debussy and Ravel.

I don't posess any professional computer orchestration equipment, but I do know a person who does and has been willing to lend it to me in the past. However, this would mean that during the composition process, I could only give updates in the form of theory (= text) and MuseScore-generated .ogg files, which have the third worst sound quality of the galaxy (level Vogon).

I think the idea to contribute here came up when I listened to

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4cAL2qW-IQ4

and I thought about writing a piece on roughly the same topic, but with drastically modified imagery and musical devices.

What do you say?
zookeeper
WML Wizard

Re: Maybe I ought to contribute some music?

Post by zookeeper »

Well, sure, new music is good. New tracks of any kind are pretty quickly adopted for user-made content use, but we already have such a huge pile of mainline tracks that if you aim for inclusion in the core game, I believe the track(s) should fill some specific need or gap in the current track pool.