[DIY] making html5 wesnoth-themed roguelike

Discuss the development of other free/open-source games, as well as other games in general.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Shadow_Walker

[DIY] making html5 wesnoth-themed roguelike

Post by Shadow_Walker »

DOWLOADS: http://www.indiedb.com/games/wessense/downloads

Hi All,

I've been enjoying Battle for Wesnoth for many years, but now I start wondering why BfW totally escaped this html5 indie gaming hype? Where are Wesnoth-inspired fast-paced roguelikes? Polished pixel art/graphics is there, storyline is quite developed, html5 is easy to learn, but no wesnoth-driven browser-based games out there? Did I miss something? It would be really great to have one.

I'm no big expert in JS programming, but I want such game so much that I started hacking up some foundation for a single-player browser-based roguelike. Long story short: randomly generated island (forests, mountains, swamps, deserts), randomly placed monsters, kidnapped elven princess / captured old mage and one (out of six) hero to try taking this island on. Very early stage, so it is not published anywhere (no GPL violations - personal use for now).

Here are my early development screenshots (hex violated KISS principle and was eliminated, hehe):

More screenshots:
http://i60.tinypic.com/2gxnwjk.png
http://i59.tinypic.com/23svkwm.png

So, what do you think: is it worth working on (if there are no games like that found in the wild, of course)? Should it be a standalone game, or engine-like thing so interested games/programmers can have a jump start for their own versions, or it is a total waste of time?

UPD: latest version is available at the link below:
http://www.wessense.org/

DOWLOADS: http://www.indiedb.com/games/wessense/downloads
Last edited by Shadow_Walker on February 20th, 2016, 4:34 am, edited 7 times in total.
Yomar

Re: looking for html5 wesnoth-themed roguelike

Post by Yomar »