[mainline] Knalgan Alliance Promotions

Brainstorm ideas of possible additions to the game. Read this before posting!

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Forum rules
Before posting a new idea, you must read the following:
KingBigMac

[mainline] Knalgan Alliance Promotions

Post by KingBigMac »

So I posted this in the Multiplayer Development forum, but I wanted to see what sort of a reaction it would get here.

So in short, I think it is unfortunate that the Knalgan Alliance has no promotion paths (no tier II branching, I now know poacher later on). Yes, I understand ideally I would propose a unit with the art and everything done; alas, I am not an artist. So at risk of this being worked on either way, as part of ever improving this wonderful game, here is one polished proposal for a promotion:

Dwarven Shieldbearer

Advances from: Dwarvish Guardsman
Advances to: Dwarven Phalangite (or whatever cool tier III unit to be made and named)
Traits (2): (same)

Abilities: shieldwall

HP: 52 Moves: 4 Cost: 34 Alignment: Neutral Required XP: 90

Many guardsmen come to discover the power of a shield utilized offensively, and ultimately part with their spears completely. Their tower shield is made two handed, and the boss reinforced. Deceptively enough for their foes, their mighty shield thrusts are still highly dangerous at close quarters. Such troops are much beloved by their brothers in arms as their improved shields are easily large enough to accommodate more than one, and the Shieldbearers frequently go out of their way to protect their companions.

Special Notes: The size of this unit's shield as well as it's training increases the defense of nearby owned units to a point.

Attacks

shield impact 9x2 melee

Resistances

arcane 20%
blade 30%
cold 20%
fire 20%
impact 30%
pierce 30%

Terrain Modifiers
(same)

shieldwall

This unit increases adjacent owned unit's defenses by 10%, up to a maximum of 70%.