[mainline] Changing the Dunefolk's(Khalifate's) unit names

Brainstorm ideas of possible additions to the game. Read this before posting!

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

Forum rules
Before posting a new idea, you must read the following:

What should the Shuja -> Khalid be named?

Poll ended at February 2nd, 2018, 2:11 am

Dune Blademaster -> Dune Conqueror
4
24%
Dune Blademaster -> Dune Warmaster
6
35%
Dune Blademaster -> Dune Warlord
3
18%
Dune Champion -> Dune Warmaster
1
6%
Dune Champion -> Dune Conqueror
3
18%
 
Total votes : 17

Re: [mainline] Changing the Dunefolk's(Khalifate's) unit nam

Postby Pentarctagon » January 30th, 2018, 6:47 am

Celtic_Minstrel wrote:
SigurdFireDragon wrote:(Side note: Falcons, Saurians, & Wolves still need one as well, Writer's Forum threads welcome)

Might want to hold off on falcons though, since we might decide to turn them into rocs.

Speaking of which, that's one thing this whole rename scheme seems to have excluded from the start; they came up in discussion but were never on the list of units to change. Were there any plans to look at the falcons in addition to the human dunefolk?


It wasn't part of my initial plans, since changing them came up more as part of the lore discussion, and that's ongoing. It's probably a bit late to start discussing them at this point too, unless the only question is whether to change Falcon -> Elder Falcon to Roc/Ruhk/etc -> Elder Roc/Ruhk/etc.
99 little bugs in the code, 99 little bugs
take one down, patch it around
-2,147,483,648 little bugs in the code
User avatar
Pentarctagon
Forum Administrator
 
Posts: 3142
Joined: March 22nd, 2009, 10:50 pm
Location: Earth (occasionally)

Re: [mainline] Changing the Dunefolk's(Khalifate's) unit nam

Postby Pentarctagon » January 31st, 2018, 2:14 am

The second poll has been started for the Shuja -> Khalid. Everyone gets a single vote, and the poll will last for two days.
99 little bugs in the code, 99 little bugs
take one down, patch it around
-2,147,483,648 little bugs in the code
User avatar
Pentarctagon
Forum Administrator
 
Posts: 3142
Joined: March 22nd, 2009, 10:50 pm
Location: Earth (occasionally)

Re: [mainline] Changing the Dunefolk's(Khalifate's) unit nam

Postby Celtic_Minstrel » January 31st, 2018, 3:11 am

Pentarctagon wrote:It's probably a bit late to start discussing them at this point too, unless the only question is whether to change Falcon -> Elder Falcon to Roc/Ruhk/etc -> Elder Roc/Ruhk/etc.

I don't think I saw any other suggestions, unless the people talking about wyvern riders were assuming they'd replace the falcons.

...and it seems like all the good (in my opinion) Shuja->Khalid options didn't make it. Oh well?
Author of The Black Cross of Aleron campaign and Default++ era.
Maintainer of Steelhive.
User avatar
Celtic_Minstrel
Developer
 
Posts: 919
Joined: August 3rd, 2012, 11:26 pm

Re: [mainline] Changing the Dunefolk's(Khalifate's) unit nam

Postby Pentarctagon » January 31st, 2018, 6:37 am

Celtic_Minstrel wrote:
Pentarctagon wrote:It's probably a bit late to start discussing them at this point too, unless the only question is whether to change Falcon -> Elder Falcon to Roc/Ruhk/etc -> Elder Roc/Ruhk/etc.

I don't think I saw any other suggestions, unless the people talking about wyvern riders were assuming they'd replace the falcons.


Alright.

edit-
Also, I suppose this is also as good a time to ask as any: What would be needed for backwards compatibility between all the new/old unit names? I haven't done anything with units or unit types in years.
99 little bugs in the code, 99 little bugs
take one down, patch it around
-2,147,483,648 little bugs in the code
User avatar
Pentarctagon
Forum Administrator
 
Posts: 3142
Joined: March 22nd, 2009, 10:50 pm
Location: Earth (occasionally)

Re: [mainline] Changing the Dunefolk's(Khalifate's) unit nam

Postby Ravana » January 31st, 2018, 10:47 am

I would see it as hidden base_unit with old id, with added event that on unit placed logs warning message and advances to new type.
User avatar
Ravana
Moderator
 
Posts: 1555
Joined: January 29th, 2012, 12:49 am
Location: Estonia

Re: [mainline] Changing the Dunefolk's(Khalifate's) unit nam

Postby tamanegi » January 31st, 2018, 12:48 pm

Ravana's idea sounds great! It will minimize the effect of the renaming.
In my understanding, unit type definition may look like the following? (not tested, though)
Code: Select all
[unit_type]
    id=Arif
    [base_unit]
        id=Dune Soldier
    [/base_unit]
    advances_to=Dune Soldier
    hide_help=yes
    do_not_list=yes
   
    [event]
        name=unit placed
        first_time_only=no
        [filter]
            type=Arif
        [/filter]

        [wml_message]
            logger=warn
            message=_"Arif is an obsolete name. Use Dune Soldier instead blablabla."
        [/wml_message]

        [transform_unit]
            x,y=$x1,$y1
        [/transform_unit]
    [/event]
[/unit_type]
Discord: @tamanegi
It is true that we cannot be free from bugs, but at least let our bugs not always the same...
A Group in a War: my first campaign, An Independence War: and the sequel
User avatar
tamanegi
 
Posts: 102
Joined: August 25th, 2014, 11:38 am
Location: Japan

Re: [mainline] Changing the Dunefolk's(Khalifate's) unit nam

Postby Celtic_Minstrel » February 1st, 2018, 3:16 am

Much like tamanegi said, but also add race=khalifate so that race filters continue to work, and use [deprecated_message] instead of [wml_message] to gain the benefit of deprecation levels.

...also, is the [transform_unit] just there to visibly highlight it? I'm not sure that's necessary, to be honest.
Author of The Black Cross of Aleron campaign and Default++ era.
Maintainer of Steelhive.
User avatar
Celtic_Minstrel
Developer
 
Posts: 919
Joined: August 3rd, 2012, 11:26 pm

Re: [mainline] Changing the Dunefolk's(Khalifate's) unit nam

Postby Pentarctagon » February 2nd, 2018, 8:29 am

So, to clarify, the existing Arif.cfg would be renamed to Soldier.cfg(along with the necessary internal changes to id and whatnot), and a new Arif.cfg would be created containing the below WML?

Code: Select all
[unit_type]
    id=Arif
    race=khalifate
    [base_unit]
        id=Dune Soldier
    [/base_unit]
    advances_to=Dune Soldier
    hide_help=yes
    do_not_list=yes
   
    [event]
        name=unit placed
        first_time_only=no
        [filter]
            type=Arif
        [/filter]

        [deprecated_message]
            logger=warn
            message=_"Arif is an obsolete name. Use Dune Soldier instead."
        [/deprecated_message]
    [/event]
[/unit_type]


And then rinse and repeat for all the units. Or should it have advances_to=Dune Swordsman,Dune Spearguard? Unless I'm mistaken, otherwise that would have a level one Arif advance to a level one Dune Soldier.

edit-
Apparently [deprecated_message] is bugged in master at the moment.
99 little bugs in the code, 99 little bugs
take one down, patch it around
-2,147,483,648 little bugs in the code
User avatar
Pentarctagon
Forum Administrator
 
Posts: 3142
Joined: March 22nd, 2009, 10:50 pm
Location: Earth (occasionally)

Re: [mainline] Changing the Dunefolk's(Khalifate's) unit nam

Postby tamanegi » February 2nd, 2018, 11:13 am

IMO, the [transform_unit] is still necessary.
In my example, the placed "Arif" will immediately advance to "Dune Soldier" by [transform_unit].
So the unit name Arif won't appear in-game.

[transform_unit] without transform_to makes the target unit advance according to the unit's advances_to.
Highlighting of the target unit may not happen during this process (not sure, though) and FULL_HEAL does not happen.

Celtic_Minstrel might mean we should just place a new unit instead of advancing the old unit.
But I don't know how to copy traits and other modifications from the old unit (Arif) to new one (Dune Soldier)... :P

Adding race=khalifate might be OK. But it means the obsolete race khalifate will still exist in the core?
If so, I suppose that khalifate will appear as a help item... It may not be welcome, IMHO. :hmm:
Discord: @tamanegi
It is true that we cannot be free from bugs, but at least let our bugs not always the same...
A Group in a War: my first campaign, An Independence War: and the sequel
User avatar
tamanegi
 
Posts: 102
Joined: August 25th, 2014, 11:38 am
Location: Japan

Re: [mainline] Changing the Dunefolk's(Khalifate's) unit nam

Postby SigurdFireDragon » February 2nd, 2018, 9:53 pm

Maybe it would be simpler to do just this, and allow the old id's to function until the end of the deprecation period?
If all the units of a race are hidden from help, would it still show up in help?

A log warning could be added to this as well

[quote="SigurdFireDragon"]While the old id's are being deprecated, adding advances_to would ensure filters don't break when the unit advances & help with compatibility.

Code: Select all
[unit_type]
    id=Rami
    [base_unit]
        id=Dune Rider
    [/base_unit]
    advances_to=Qanas,Saree
    race=khalifate
    hide_help=yes
    do_not_list=yes
[/unit_type]
User avatar
SigurdFireDragon
Developer
 
Posts: 357
Joined: January 12th, 2011, 2:18 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Re: [mainline] Changing the Dunefolk's(Khalifate's) unit nam

Postby Celtic_Minstrel » February 3rd, 2018, 2:10 am

Yeah Sigurd, that's the general idea. Anything that was made using the old IDs should continue to function through 1.1, which means all units originally placed with the old IDs need to stay with the old IDs.
Author of The Black Cross of Aleron campaign and Default++ era.
Maintainer of Steelhive.
User avatar
Celtic_Minstrel
Developer
 
Posts: 919
Joined: August 3rd, 2012, 11:26 pm

Previous

Return to Ideas

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests