[engine] Unit-specific undo

Brainstorm ideas of possible additions to the game. Read this before posting!

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

Forum rules
Before posting a new idea, you must read the following:
Post Reply
User avatar
irrevenant
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 3692
Joined: August 15th, 2005, 7:57 am
Location: I'm all around you.

[engine] Unit-specific undo

Post by irrevenant » December 4th, 2010, 11:14 pm

At times it would be really nice to be able to select a unit and undo their move specifically.

I don't know if this would be better as a replacement for the current undo, or as an alternative to it (Ctrl-U?). Certainly it's only worth doing if it can be implemented in a clean, unconfusing way.

I can't be the only person to move out my army, then realise I moved the first one to the wrong place. :lol2:

P.S. The "[]" tags are new since I was last here, I hope I used them correctly. Where are they documented, please?

User avatar
Gambit
Loose Screw
Posts: 3266
Joined: August 13th, 2008, 3:00 pm
Location: Dynamica
Contact:

Re: [engine] Unit-specific undo

Post by Gambit » December 5th, 2010, 12:44 am

Have you tried the whiteboard in 1.9? It's not exactly this, but similar.

User avatar
irrevenant
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 3692
Joined: August 15th, 2005, 7:57 am
Location: I'm all around you.

Re: [engine] Unit-specific undo

Post by irrevenant » December 5th, 2010, 8:23 am

Gambit wrote:Have you tried the whiteboard in 1.9? It's not exactly this, but similar.
Is that "Planning mode"? I just noticed it but haven't tried it yet.

It looks good, but it'd be best if you didn't need to know in advance that you'll want to undo.

Aside: Gmail just implemented an undo for discarded messages. It's beautiful. :) No nagging "Are you sure you want to...?" messages or special mode you need to activate. Just an "Oops, I didn't mean to!" option there for if you need it.

Post Reply