pay to play for Wesnoth

Brainstorm ideas of possible additions to the game. Read this before posting!

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Forum rules
Before posting a new idea, you must read the following:
FleshPeeler
Location: A mystery wrapped in an enigma smothered with a three cheese blend.

pay to play for Wesnoth

Post by FleshPeeler »

Split from Warbands thread -mod
tsr wrote:ps. I've also been thinking that this could be a great way to gain income for the BfW project (say either by requiring a small monthly fee - like $0.5-1 for all players or a larger fee for somee nice extra functions that don't really matter - like the idea of being able to play for fun games with all reacll lists - and others like that - like possibility to create guilds, topic-clubs and having an own - as in closed - forum/chat)
I know I'm not a coder (yet . . . still working on that), but I DO know enough about Open Source to know that your suggestion violates one of the central foundations of the Open Source movement. Profit is only gained through donations. Do you want BfW to become known as the first P2P Open Source project?

Anyway, on topic . . . I don't like this idea for one sole reason; Massive lag. I've seen how long my Recall list gets in Campaigns. Imagine EVERY unit you've EVER recruited in EVERY MP game you've EVER played simultaneously loading every turn you want to use that. Now imagine that times 2 for 1v1 . . . times 4 for 2v2 . . . times 6 for 3v3.

Yeah, you're going to tell me "People should clean out their Recall list, then we wouldn't have that problem!" Should guarantees nothing. I work in IT services for a group of steel companies near the Great Lakes. People should clear out their inboxes on a regular basis, but noooo . . . do you want to know how often we have to manually dig into their mailbox and clean out the 50,000+ e-mails that they've accumulated from the day they started working here because nobody knows about that mysterious "Delete" button?