Classic RPG battle system.

Brainstorm ideas of possible additions to the game. Read this before posting!

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Forum rules
Before posting a new idea, you must read the following:

Would you prefer another battle system or the actual one?

New one! its more tactical...
19%
Actual one! I can play it faster!
81%
Errrr... i didn't even understand how to play this game...
No votes

Total votes: 21

Aleksi
Music Contributor

Classic RPG battle system.

Post by Aleksi »

I don't know if any of you played "Ogre Battle". it is one of the best games i've ever played. In fact, the first time i saw Wesnoth i saw a similarity to this game! Anyway, i wanted to know how people would feel having a different battle system. Here are some shots of Ogre Battle:

Of course, i'm a musician and i have no idea how long it could take creating this... Lets say a battle system like OB is more RPG type. Game lenght will be much longer and strategic. I am just curious about people's advice. Thought i could mention this idea... :roll: Another interesting point of view is that items and weapons could be incoprporated! I know it has been discussed but i wish there would be shops and stuff. But maybe its not the goal of Wesnoth. Anyway, cheers!

Aleksi.
Sithrandel

Post by Sithrandel »

I view Wesnoth as a wargame, not an RPG. Hence keep the battles unmicromanaged :D

I don't want a game which stretches forever and requires huge micromanagement. I play on lunchbreaks so don't have much time to dedicate to it :-(

Perhaps if I had more time, or battles were less frequent I'd feel differently.
Lithorien

Post by Lithorien »

No.

Wesnoth is not an Ogre Battle clone and never will be.
Know your Allies Well, Know your Enemies Better. -Sun Tzu, The Art of War.
Ave

Post by Ave »

I think Wesnoth's battlesystem is already set. Maybe I would like another battlesystem, and definitely I like RPG's but that wouldn't be Wesnoth :) Keep Wesnoth as it is, and create new games for Linux!