Questions about D&D.

The place for chatting and discussing subjects unrelated to Wesnoth.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Naron

Questions about D&D.

Post by Naron »

As mentioned in a thread on the forum, I started playing NWN and get familiar with the D&D system.
A problem with D&D is that it is hard to understand, at least for me.
In particular, I do not understand clearly what a dice means and how it work.
For example, 2d4 means any number between 1 and 8?
Or what exactly is d20?
I read articles about D&D, but I did not quite understand. Maybe someone on the forum could explain me better.
Of course, I hope I do not bother with my questions.
Turuk
Sithslayer

Re: Questions about D&D.

Post by Turuk »

2d4 means that you need to roll a 4-sided dice twice to get the necessary value. You might also see 2d4 +2, which means you roll the 4-sided dice twice and then add 2 to get you value. It can be any number that is added, the 2 is an example.

A d20 is a 20 sided dice.
Mainline Maintainer: AOI, DM, NR, TB and THoT.
UMC Maintainer: Forward They Cried, A Few Logs, A Few More Logs, Start of the War, and Battle Against Time
Dugi

Post by Dugi »

I have played NWN and NWN2 quite a lot, learned the mechanics and made a few power builds, so I guess I might be somebody capable to help you.

About the dice throws. 2d4 means two throws of a 4-faced dice, that is like random(from 1 to 4) + random(from 1 to 4). The result will be between 2 and 8, but the probability to get 2 or 8 is only 6%. The average damage from it is 5 (each 4-faced dice throw is 2.5 average, (1+2+3+4)/4=2.5). d20 means a random number from 1 to 20 (in the case of d20, 20 can mean some sort of lucky hit with some extra bonuses).

To briefly explain how does the combat go there: