Unrestricted Python in 1.2?

Discussion of all aspects of the game engine, including development of new and existing features.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

allefant
Units Database Administrator

Unrestricted Python in 1.2?

Post by allefant »

After mentioning it in IRC, it seems that I'm not the only one who is a bit worried about unrestricted Python in Wesnoth 1.2. Basically, as is also mentioned in the old Python thread, there is no 100% secure restricted execution model for Python: The Python interpreter is linked to libc, and you can dynamically change about any aspect of the standard interpreter at runtime - so it's never really secure, even if using the existing rexec module. I'm not an expert on this, but it's what google suggests.

This means, someone could upload a malicious script to the campaign server, and implement a Python AI which does something bad like deleting your root directory.

As solution for after 1.2, we probably should provide a way to mark campaigns on the campaign server as trusted. That is, a number of people would have special access to the campaign server, and could mark campaigns as trusted. Each new campaign would start as untrusted. And only trusted campaigns would be allowed to execute .py files.

So, like, a new campaign appears on the server from nowhere - it may not use Python. Someone from the forums uploads a campaign with a Python AI, then someone with CS access marks it as allowed, and it can now execute the .py files. (Or maybe the CS would not even send the .py files otherwise).

It's how e.g. Blender/GIMP scripts work - you download them from sites where you expect no malicious code, even though any such script has complete access to your whole file system.

Anyway, the solutions I see for 1.2:
  • Do nothing. It's quite unlikely someone will actually construct a malicious Python AI and upload to the campaign server. But then, a lot of users will download 1.2, and can never know..